I spent my vacation watching Korean dramas…

I’ve been on vacation for the last week.  New Years is a really busy time in Japan and is relatable to the way we celebrate Christmas.

I had to work on Christmas, so we went to McDonald's for lunch.

I had to work on Christmas, so we went to McDonald’s for lunch.

Christmas in Japan is a lovers holiday… Usually you spend it with a special someone.  (PSA – Me and Parker are NOT dating.  You’ll see him a lot, but we’re work BFFs, there’s no attraction there, hah.)

Then on the way back to my job we posed with Santa Claus.

Then on the way back to my job we posed with Santa Claus.

And then that night we had KFC.  Eating fried chicken and Christmas cake is a MUST in Japan on Christmas.

And then that night we had KFC. Eating fried chicken and Christmas cake is a MUST in Japan on Christmas.

New Years is the big family holiday.  Everyone returns to their hometown and spends it with their families.  They eat a lot of special food and visit shrines to wish for good luck in the new year on New Year’s day.  Parker, our friend and I all went to Tenjin on New Year’s day just to check it out and it was dead.  We went the next day as well, and there were so many people I thought I was back in Osaka.  It was insane.

Other than a couple days of shopping (IKEA and Canal City in Hakata) we haven’t done much of anything.  Christmas day was when I received my first full paycheck, so we couldn’t really plan anything for the holidays because I had no money.  Our friend came up from Nagasaki, which was nice, and we relaxed a lot.

Which brings me to what I’ve done: watch Korean dramas.  I’m not ashamed of my love for Korean dramas.  It’s the only reason I have a HuluPlus membership.  I also got all caught up on Grey’s Anatomy and Glee finally as well.  I took a break from my current drama to write this.  I’m thinking of doing a Top 5 things I love/hate about Korean dramas.

I’m an expert, if you didn’t know, hah.  I’ve seen over 15 different Korean dramas at this point… some have been period pieces, some have had a lot of flower boys and a couple have had really masculine male leads.  I like a little bit of everything.  Currently I’m watching Secret Garden and I’m really enjoying it so far.  We’ll see what happens… I might finish it tonight.  We’ll see.  ^^