Hard Choices | Daily Prompt

A Bookish Choice – Daily Prompt

A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

 

Both are such good options, to me at least.  I would love to be an obscure novelist, someone who really carves out their own, unique niche, but only a few people understand/get into.  I think that would be a lot of fun, because then you can really build a relationship with your readers.

On the other hand, it would be great to be a popular author and entertain millions.  To be able to be a writer like J.K. Rowling, who pretty much raised an entire generation on her books, I would love that.

So I really can’t decide.  But if the witch were holding the wand to my head like a gun, I would definitely have to choose being an obscure novelist.  I think that way I could stay truer to my roots and the real reason I want to get into writing.  I could build an interesting and fun relationship with readers.  I want to be accessible, involved and really give not only interesting books, but interesting experiences as well.  I really want to see this dream begin to come to fruition soon.  I keep taking these steps, it’s time to finally achieve it.

Having a lot of fun with my friend here.  Trying to keep on, keeping on.  Hitting a lantern festival tomorrow, so I’ll most likely have plenty of photos to share.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/a-bookish-choice/

Leave a comment