NaNoWriMo Day One

Day one of NaNoWriMo is officially over for those of us in Japan.  I hemmed and hawed all day about how I wanted to start, when I wanted to start and what I wanted to do.  Finally around 11 p.m. I forced myself to sit down and just get to it.  Am I satisfied with it?  No, far from it.  But, this is going to be an exceptional learning process.  This is day one in a journey for the next thirty days.  This journey is going to teach me how to shed my inner-editor and just get the words out.  I have a story to tell, all I have to do is get it down, outside of my head.  That’s always been the hardest part.

I’m not a planner, I don’t have some great outline that’s propelling me in the direction I want to go.  I have a very basic twist figured out and the main plot figured out, but other than that everything else is up in the air.  I can already see different plot lines forming in my head, characters traits and flaws developing… It’s a scary but fun process.

So, now that day one is over, I’m looking forward to day two.  And I hope that in a week I’ll be looking forward to day nine.

Best of luck everyone!

Leave a Reply

