So, what can I do as a Creative Writer?

I’ve thought about this a lot.  Can I really make a living out of this?  Would I ever be able to do what I love and support myself?  I think that’s one of the main reasons that I feel and get discouraged a lot.  I’m not doing this for the fame or the fortune (although some extra pocket cash would be nice).  I really just want to find a way to support myself and do what I love.  With tons of debt from school looming over my head, I have to have a job that covers all of the bills first and then I can turn to writing.  And then I’m always too exhausted to even lift a finger.

But if I want to reach my dreams, I have to lift those fingers even when I’m tired.  So, today marks that day that I take the first steps toward pursing my life-long dreams.

I found this great list over at WritingForward.com (A most useful website!)

20 Creative Writing Career Options

  1. Greeting Card Author
  2. Comic Book Writer
  3. Novelist
  4. Creativity Coach
  5. Writing Coach
  6. Advertising (Creative)
  7. Screenwriter
  8. Songwriter (Lyricist)
  9. Freelance Short Fiction Writer
  10. Creative Writing Instructor
  11. Legacy Writer (write people’s bios and family histories)
  12. Ghostwriter
  13. Travel Writer (if you travel)
  14. Article Writer (write, submit, repeat)
  15. Columnist
  16. Video Game Writer (includes storytelling/fiction!)
  17. Personal Poet (write personalized poems for weddings, funerals, childbirths, etc.)
  18. Playwright
  19. Blogger (don’t tell me you don’t have a blog yet!)
  20. Creative Writing Consultant

(From Writing Forward)

Of course, when I look at this list, the easiest seems like ‘blogger’ mostly because I’m already doing that.  (Sporadically, but doing it!)

And the dream job is novelist.  I’ve mentioned it before but I have about 7 different story ideas floating around in my head, all kind of mixed and jumbled together at this point.  Sometimes I get characters and plot lines crossed, but for the most part they are seven very independent ideas that I would like to pursue.  Hopefully soon.

I really think all of these sound like wonderful options and are definitely things I could get into.  Currently I’m looking into editing work, I’ve been really big into editing other people’s work recently since I can’t seem to produce my own.  I’d love to have a chance to work for Penguin books or Simon and Schuster.

While I’m searching for the next step in my life, I’m going to keep writing as much as I can.  I have a wonderful friend that is an artist who offered to help me find my voice again.  I’m going to use his artwork to find inspiration and write as much as I can, when I can.

I’m also moonlighting (cheating should I say) on my other blog with a friend over at Pen Strokes & Paw Prints.  I’m doing everything to get that creativity flowing!

So, how about you… what do you do to get your creativity flowing?  And which of the writing jobs sounds like the most fun to you?  Let me know down below!

One thought on “So, what can I do as a Creative Writer?

  1. Richard Pavlak says:

    I procrastinate to much. I get creative when the deadline is looming….I know it’s not a good way to get things done……I also get real creative when I get depressed….I don’t know why but the idea’s get going and I can put things to paper…..I’m not writing a novel, just some sayings and thoughts…..You know you got your creativeness from me….

Leave a Reply

