Your ignorance disgusts me

I was getting ready to head off to bed when I happened to glance something in my news feed.

And, almost instantly, I was shocked.

11226905_950428744992547_7520754879939577526_nWhat in the hell?

I mean, wait a second… back up, is this person serious?

The answer to that, is yes.

The ‘friend’ who posted it (I use friend loosely because we haven’t talked in forever and I keep them around for novelty, though I’m sure they’ll be gone soon enough) proceeded to go on about Christians and gay marriage.

I am so over that argument.  It’s time for Christians to pull up their God damn big boy and girl panties and get over it.

Stop looking at people based upon who they love, or what they choose to do in their free time.  I still fail to see how that is any of their business?  What does it matter to you what I do in the comfort of my home, or whom I choose to share some PDA with outside of the house?  I don’t see you shying away in disgust from the man cheating on his wife… and that is also considered a ‘sin.’  What is their personal vendetta against homosexuals?  Why do they think discrimination is ok?  Does it go against your beliefs? Sure.  Does someone else’s beliefs affect your own?  Only if you let it.  So how are still people getting away with discrimination?

Let’s hit the basics for a second.

Discrimination is defined as “treatment or consideration of, or making a distinction in favor of or against, a person or thing based on the group, class, or category to which that person or thing belongs rather than on individual merit.” 

So, this is pretty rampant every where.  Why is this ok?  It shouldn’t be.  What someone else does should never affect you.  I am on the receiving end of discrimination every day (I am a foreigner in another country).  But you know what, instead of discriminating them as well and feeding into the vicious cycle, I choose to move past it.  What they do doesn’t affect my daily life?  I’ve been yelled at, hissed at, thrown the most disgusting looks and been told in more than one language that I don’t belong.

Now let’s invert that.  Why should I affect them?  What is it about me?  My skin color?  The way I speak?  How can they judge my worthiness to be here based upon those categories?  The truth is, they can’t.  And that’s the reason I’m still here and not being sent back to my own country.  Because it is ILLEGAL.

Heading back to the gay marriage debate, the person then proceeded to discuss the Klein’s story.  It made quite a splash a while ago and I remember reading the headlines and a bit about the story.   And I remember shaking my head and moving past it because I didn’t want to get caught up in the argument.

Let’s hit on that for a moment, because this is what a lot of Christian’s are crying about.  Now that the LGBT community has the right to marry, which should never have been a question in the first place, they feel as if they are being discriminated against.  She used the term, persecuted.  Let’s see.

Persecuted is defined as “to pursue with harassing or oppressive treatment, especially because of religious or political beliefs, ethnic or racial origin, gender identity, or sexual orientation.”

Is anyone harassing them because of their religious beliefs?  I don’t think so.  All that’s happening is the LGBT community is asking for equal treatment.  Christians don’t want to treat them as equals because they see them, well, as inferior.  As less than they are, because what they’re doing is ‘morally wrong.’

And this comes out of a centuries old, out-dated book.  I will always and forever be a skeptic.

But again, I want to know, how does what they do in their lives even affect Christians?  Are they forcing you to partner up with the same-sex?  No?  Where do you get the balls to tell these people what they can, and cannot, do?

What I see with the Klein’s is a owner’s of the bakery discriminating against customers, based upon their sexual orientation.  And this is against the law.

“The Civil Rights Act of 1964 banned public accommodations (i.e. businesses) from denying service based on race, color, religion, or national origin. In Heart of Atlanta Motel v. U.S. (1964), the Supreme Court ruled that public accommodations do not have the right to select their customers free from government regulation. In recent years, a number of states have banned business from denying service based on sexual orientation.” – From The Truth about the Sweet Cakes Bakery Gag Order

I could go on for ages about this, but I think the above paragraph essentially outlines what happened.  If you want to support the bakery, that is your choice and you can do as you please.  If they want to make themselves a private business so they don’t have to follow nation wide laws, then power to them.  But if you are going to be a public business, then you absolutely cannot discriminate, even if it goes against your beliefs.

Let’s go back to the original image I posted.

I’m still completely flabbergasted.  I mean, really?  I’m still holding out for the hope that this is a joke, coming off of the push to ‘ban the Confederate flag.’  It’s a piece of fabric.  Do people really think the flag holds any sort of power in the world.

The flag was first designed in 1978 by Gilbert Baker as a response for a community symbol.  The original flag had 8 stripes, which included:

  • hot pink for sexuality
  • red for life
  • orange for healing
  • yellow for the sun
  • green for serenity with nature
  • turquoise for art
  • indigo for harmony
  • violet for spirit

Use by the gay community began later that year when it was flown at the San Francisco Gay and Lesbian Freedom Day Parade.  The flag has undergone two transformations, and the current version has six stripes.  (You can check out more about the history of the rainbow flag here)

This flag did not kill those people.  The man’s sexual orientation did not affect his choice to kill those people.  A sick man chose to take their lives in a disgusting and terrible crime.  We shouldn’t be looking at his sexual orientation or the color of his skin, those don’t matter in this.  I could go on for a while about it, but while the picture started this train of thought, it’s not what I really wanted to discuss.

The flag, at its core, is a symbol of pride, hope and diversity.  The flag does not exclude anyone, though that is what Christians choose to believe.  Instead, it envelopes everyone who stands for the ‘ability to be themselves.’  Christians are not being persecuted for their believes, no matter what they choose to think.

The LGBT community won a small victory, a right that they should have had from the start.  Who are we to dictate who can and cannot get married?

Marriage is defined as, “(broadly) any of the diverse forms of interpersonal union established in various parts of the world to form a familial bond that is recognized legally, religiously, or socially, granting the participating partners mutual conjugal rights and responsibilities and including, for example, opposite-sex marriage, same-sex marriage, plural marriage, and arranged marriage.” 

Notice it says ‘legally, religiously, or socially.”  There is not one easy and simple definition of marriage.  It is not simply the religious binding of a man and a woman.  It is something that ties you to another, regardless of their sex, that allows conjugal rights and responsibilities.  Before the LGBT community was allowed to marry, they could not legally entered a loved ones hospital room, receive benefits from their partner, among a multitude of other things that should have been legally granted.

I don’t get to choose who you love.  I shouldn’t have any say in whether or not you can get married.  It enrages me to no end that there are still people who believe they can tell another who to love and who they can pledge themselves to.  It’s actually none of my business.

All we, as human beings, should care about when concerning others are if they’re happy.  Are you happy? Yes?  Good.  If you’re not, what can I do to help you become happy?  I don’t care who you go home to, who you choose to share your time with, who you choose to sleep in your bed with.  And neither should any one else.

But again, this is just one small victory… an infinitesimal drop in the bigger pot of issues.

I need you to ‘Educate Yo Self!‘:

Did you watch it?  Good.  I won’t get into any of the numbers here.  But it is our duty to spread the word.  Share the video and share these ideas.  We can begin change, but we have to start from somewhere.  Time to wake up and end discrimination against EVERYONE.

Check out these links for more information:

Center for American Progress
More on the Rainbow Flag
More About Refusing Services to People
Why Christians Should Embrace Same-Sex Relationships
LGBT Foundation – Facts and Figures

All definitions from Dictionary.com

One thought on “Your ignorance disgusts me

Leave a Reply

