Monster Cookies Recipe

wpid-2015-05-25-21.28.11.jpg.jpeg

Look at these delicious cookies.  On a very cute bunny plate (of course)!  I’ve always been a fan of monster cookies, but never thought about making them.  I have no idea why the thought never crossed my mind… But talking to a student a few weeks ago, I decided to try it out here in Japan.

What you need:

– 2 cups all-purpose flour
– 1 teaspoon baking soda
– 1/2 teaspoon salt
– 3/4 cup (1 & 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
– 1 cup brown sugar
– 1/2 cup granulated sugar
– 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
– 1 whole egg
– 1 egg yolk
– 1 teaspoon vanilla
– 1 cup oats
– 3/4 cup peanut butter chips
– 1/2 cup chocolate chips
– M&Ms

This recipe will make around 30 cookies (more if you like small-ish cookies, less if  you like big ones).

A few things first, finding baking soda in Japan can be a bit tricky.  It’s called タンサン here and it can be difficult to find.  If you look in the baking section (usually in the cereal aisle) you can find it tucked away near the bottom.  I went to my local Suny and after some poking around finally found it.

wpid-2015-05-25-21.59.52.jpg.jpeg

Left: Baking Powder – Right: Baking Soda

Also, for butter, I usually just pick up the cake margarine (below).

wpid-20150525_182803.jpg

Before I begin, I also want to discuss the preciseness that is baking.  If you want the end result to be delicious it’s imperative to follow measurements and directions well.  You can doctor some of them (I decreased the oats/peanut butter chips and added an extra splash of vanilla) but for the main parts, leave them.  And when you’re measuring, make sure there is no bits sticking up.  Like this:

wpid-2015-05-25-21.59.18.jpg.jpeg

This = no good

You want to make sure to get exactly one cup.  So I take a butter knife and scrape it over the top, pushing excess into holes and the rest back into the bag of flour.

wpid-20150525_181056.jpg

Scrape and even out like this!

Now, let’s begin!

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.

wpid-20150525_182543.jpg

2. In another bowl (large!), cream together the butter, brown sugar, granulated sugar and peanut butter.  Use a hand mixer for this step or else it’s going to take you a long time and your arms will probably get sore. (Peanut butter can be tricky to get out of the measuring cup so make sure to have a spatula handy!)

wpid-20150525_184125.jpg

The red hue is from my light…

3. Add the egg, egg yolk and vanilla to the mixture and mix until creamy.

wpid-20150525_184720.jpg

Separating the egg yolk can be challenging for some people, be careful. I always do it over the sink in case I spill some or drop it.

Mix. Mix. Mix.

Mix. Mix. Mix.

Cream-y!

Cream-y!

4. Now, slowly add the flour mixture until fully mixed (still using the hand mixer)!  If you have an extra person, this part is always nice to have an extra set of hands!  (I grew up doing this for my Mom, makes it go much quicker).

wpid-20150525_185718.jpg

All mixed up and waiting for the goodies!

Extra Bits! – If you’re cooking dinner as well, like I was, don’t forget to check on it and stir it occasionally.

Dinner.  Yum!

Dinner. Yum!

5. Mix in the oats.  You can use a hand mixer or a spatula.  My hand mixer is cheap and doesn’t handle cookie dough very well so I always do this by hand.

Oats!

Oats!

6. Stir in the peanut butter chips, chocolate chips and M&Ms.  Stirring by hand is better at this point because you won’t break the M&Ms.
(Side note: For some reason I couldn’t find any regular M&Ms in my city so I had to opt for crispy M&Ms.  I think they work just as well but they are a bit larger.  I’d go with whatever you like… if you like Peanut M&Ms use those!)  I only used a small package of the crispy M&Ms because they were so big, I’m going to use the other two packages to press M&Ms into the tops of the cookies.

Peanut butter chips and chocolate chips!

Peanut butter chips and chocolate chips!  You can see the M&Ms waiting!

wpid-2015-05-25-22.01.42.jpg.jpeg
At this point I put the cookie dough in the fridge.  I had been making the dough for an hour and cooking at the same time.  It needed to chill a bit before going in the oven.

Time to chill!

Time to chill!

If you were cooking dinner, don’t forget to eat!

My meal: Crock pot continental chicken, home made mashed potatoes, carrots and rolls.

My meal: Crock pot continental chicken, home made mashed potatoes, carrots and rolls.

7. When you’re ready, start baking your cookies!  In Celsius, 350 degrees is about 180.  I haven’t figured out if my oven here actually pre-heats, so to get it up to temperature I start the time at 20 minutes and wait the first 8 minutes before popping the tray of cookies in.
You want to make little round dough balls.  If you like larger cookies, make ’em big.  If you like smaller, nibble-size cookies, make ’em small.

My baking sheet is on the small side so I only did six at a time.

My baking sheet is on the small side so I only did six at a time.

8. This is the part when you want to press in those extra M&Ms.  For the cookies that looked like they were lacking in the M&M department I pushed at least one onto the top.

9.  Bake your cookies for 9-12 minutes.  I found that in my oven 12 minutes worked the best.  The cookies came out lightly browned and the perfect amount of chewy.  I’ve had problems in the past where all of my cookies burned and the bottoms got really hard.

Lightly browned and delicious!

Lightly browned and delicious!

10. Like all cookies, these will continue to cook while sitting on the sheet.  Put them on a cooling rack for about 2 minutes and then gently lift them and transfer them to newspaper.  I was always raised to put my cookies on newspaper because it helps to absorb the grease.  Let them sit on the newspaper until completely cool and then store in an airtight container.  Don’t forget to eat a few to check the taste! 😉

The best cookies I've made so far!

The best cookies I’ve made so far!

They are definitely very delicious.  I can’t wait to share them with my friends.  (=^-^=)

Leave a Reply

