I Choose You!

When I think of Pokemon, I’ll always think of the original 150 (or should I say 151 with Mew).

I grew up watching Pokemon, playing Pokemon cards, games and many different Pokemon toys.  I was pretty much Pokemon obsessed and my main love was Pikachu.

025Pikachu_OS_anime_8

Picture from the Pokemon Wiki – http://pokemon.wikia.com/wiki/Pikachu

Pokemon is still pretty popular here in Japan, but now there are so many different Pokemon that it makes my head spin.  When I go to the Pokemon Center in Hakata Station I’m always so confused by all of the different characters on the shelves.  I always get excited when I see one of the original 151, especially when they’re random.  I think last time I went I saw a Tentacool.  Not a very popular Pokemon, but there it was.

I remember my first exposure to Pokemon, Saturday morning cartoons.  It was love at first sight.  I started to read the comic books my Dad picked up from his store, watching every week and eventually, that Christmas, my brother and I both received gameboy games: red and blue.  We were obsessed together.  I think that was the first Christmas our parents had to beg us to come into the living room to open the rest of our presents.  (The games were our ‘pre-Christmas’ gift that they left under the tree in our room so that we would be occupied and they could sleep in).  I must’ve been about 8 years old at the time.

I still love Pokemon now.  When Google Maps had a special April Fool’s promotion where you could find different Pokemon on the world map I had to do it.  I wouldn’t stop until I found all 151, though I did cheat.  I found about half on my own before I started using a guide.  I thought that on April 2 they would finish the promotion and I wouldn’t be able to do it anymore.  Turns out it was up for a week.  Oh well, it was still fun.

Now I really want to play Pokemon.  (><)  Happy lazy Sunday!

One thought on “I Choose You!

Leave a Reply

