Baby Steps… But I’m Taking Steps!

Anybody who really knows me knows me that I have about 0% desire to return to America.Β  If it weren’t for my sister and her kids I probably wouldn’t even be going back for Christmas (and some business I have to take care of).Β  I came here for a reason and I’m trying to carve a life for myself here.

And, one of the biggest steps to do that is, speaking the language.

I studied the language for four years in college, studied abroad at Kansai Gaidai and then, stopped.Β  So many of the things I learned and knew have since left my brain.Β  Being here for a year (Today is my Japaniversary!), I’ve re-input a lot of the things that I forgot, but I have a long way to go.Β  I want to eventually become fluent in a second language, which is something that I always thought would be impossible for me.

So, in an effort to become fluent, I’ve started taking Japanese language classes and studying as much as I can.Β  The progress is slow, mostly because I use English all day, every day.Β  But I’m doing my best.Β  My listening skill is getting much better, but my speaking continues to be pretty low.Β  Even though I still feel pretty low, I’m going to take the N5 level of the JLPT (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) in December.

You can find some information about the JLPT here: http://www.jlpt.jp/e/

I’m taking N5, which is the lowest.Β  I took the practice test online and it was really easy, so I feel pretty good about my test in December.Β  Next July, I want to take N4.Β  It’s going to be a long and difficult road, but I want to start really establishing a life for myself here, and I think this is one of the first steps.

Wish me luck on my journey!Β  I have a feel it’s going to be a wild ride from here on out!

2 thoughts on “Baby Steps… But I’m Taking Steps!

Leave a Reply

