Pay Attention!

I had a busy, but fun weekend.  My friend came down for a spur of the moment visit and we had a great time.  This, however, means I didn’t do much relaxing.  Oh well, such is my life.

So, last night I went to make a cake because a co-worker is leaving today.  I wanted to make this delicious looking pumpkin spice chiffon cake.  I translated the instructions, got ready to make the cake, and cracked an egg into the bowl.

That’s when I realized the eggs were 2 months old.  Ooops.  So I grabbed my keys and headed to the grocery store in my pajamas.  I bought the first carton of eggs I saw and high-tailed it out of there, ready to make this cake and head to bed.

The recipe calls for 3 egg yolks and 4 egg whites.  So I very carefully separated the last egg, put all the ingredients in the bowl, mixed it up.  And then I realized it looked a lot like scrambled eggs, and smelled like scrambled eggs.  But I thought, ‘Ehhh, it’s my first Japanese cake, maybe this is just how it works.’  So I popped them in the oven and started talking to my friend.

The smell of eggs filled my apartment.  I was starting to become worried, but I brushed it off again.  I started talking to my friend about the scrambled egg smell and she asked me what size eggs I used.

It was then that I realized the recipe called for M eggs, and I had bought E eggs.  M means medium… E is EXTRA LARGE.

So, I looked over at my oven, horrified, realizing I had essentially just made egg souffle.  With a hint of pumpkin taste.  Awesome.

wpid-20140930_012033.jpg

At least I have breakfast for a while.  😡

4 thoughts on “Pay Attention!

Leave a Reply

