Girly Clothes

I started writing this a couple of months ago (March, actually) but never got around to getting my ideas down about it.  Now, sitting here trying to sort through all the ideas in my head, I want to revisit this.

My clothes do not define me.

What I choose to wear and put on my body is my decision.  And anything you say to me isn’t going to change those decisions.

I am getting sick and tired of people commenting about my clothes.  Asking me why I don’t dress more girly.  Let’s set one thing straight: I’m a girl, I have the necessary parts to be a girl.  What I choose to cover those parts with is none of your business.  If I want to put on men’s clothes and walk around in them, that’s my damn business.  And just because I do that doesn’t make me a lesbian.

You know what it makes me?  Comfortable in my own damn skin.  Comfortable enough to wear whatever the hell I want and not give a damn about what other people have to say.  And usually, I just let what other people say float right off my back.

I have a tough skin, I’ve built it up over the years.  I’ve heard endless comments about my weight, my clothes, my hair.  In middle school I was teased relentlessly because of my hair.  But even then, I didn’t give a single fuck.  (Pardon my French)  And I still don’t, but damn if sometimes I don’t just want to take people out back and show them that I mean business.

Usually my armor is pretty tough.  Words and looks bounce right off me and I hardly ever notice.  I don’t often give rude or horrible people a second glance because there just aren’t enough hours in the day to care about those people.  But every once in a while, there happens to be a hole in the armor.  And sometimes those words slither right through.  And just like that Linkin Park song, “Pushing Me Away” the people who never frown eventually break down.

The song, for reference. ^^

It’s a shame that this is the world we live in now.  It’s an even worse when we see the direction the world is going towards.  So many horrible things have been happening recently, and around every turn there’s always someone judging someone else.  Some times it’s difficult not to, it’s almost like we’re programmed to do it.  But stop yourself, and think, how would this person feel if the shoe was on the other foot?

What it all boils down to: Nobody should ever feel ashamed of themselves.  As long as you’re happy and comfortable in your own skin, that’s really all that matters.  If you feel judged or mistreated, just remember that these people are probably trying to project their insecurities onto you.  Look them in the face and tell them, ‘I don’t give a damn what you think, but thank your advice/criticism/thoughts.  Next time, keep it to yourself.’

Leave a Reply

