Fly, You Fools | Daily Prompt

“Do you want to watch the Lord of the Rings?”  He calls to me from the bedroom.  He already knows the answer, I don’t know why he bothers with such a pointless question.

“Do you even have to ask?!” I shout back as I finish towel drying my hair before pulling it up into a messy bun.  I step back into the room to find him already camped out on my bed, a bowl of popcorn and the remote, in his hand.

“Well, we haven’t got all day…” He gives me the smirk that I hate and pats the bed next to him.  I have to bite back the words that rise in my throat, keeping a muzzle on the inner-sarcastic beast that has gotten me into trouble so many times in the past.

He arches an eyebrow when I crawl into the bed beside him without a word.  When he opens his mouth to point out my silence, I shove a handful of popcorn in, keeping him quiet for the moment.

“I don’t want to fight today, I just want to enjoy your company and the movie…”  I mumble, before shoving a handful of popcorn into my own mouth, a red tint spreading across my cheeks.  I’m still not sure if I can get used to this feeling or his presence, in my life.  When he wraps his arm around me, I stiffen at the contact.  It takes a moment for my body to relax into his, still adjusting to the new found closeness.  For someone like me, who has made it a habit of keeping people at arms length, it’s taking a while to adjust to willingly having someone’s arms around me whenever they want.  He knows this, and sometimes I think he enjoys watching me get embarrassed and squirm under his touch.

He has to keep shushing me every five minutes because I keep quoting every other line.

“Can you just let them speak?!”  He says, shaking me a little before pulling me in even closer.  I let out a squeak, before letting myself settle against his chest.  He knows exactly how to quiet me and it works, for the most part.  It’s not until Gandalf falls with the Balrog, that I let another sound out.  But it’s not a quote, or a line… it’s a sniffle.  I feel him shift and look down at me.  I try to rub the tears that have collected in the corners of my eyes, but I know I’ve been caught.

“Are you crying?!”  He asks, incredulous.

“No!… Yes…  I always cry at this part!  I can’t help it… Frodo’s face when he turns and looks back, it gets me every time!”  I try to explain while pulling away from him.  His arm is locked onto me though, keeping me from escaping.  Stuck and embarrassed again I try to hide my face from him, but he pokes me in the forehead, forcing me to look up at him.  He wipes the tears that have fallen from my eyes with a gentle touch, before leaning down and pressing his forehead against mine.  I feel my breath catch in my throat and suddenly I’m swimming in his eyes, expecting to hear something emotional or sensitive.

“Don’t worry, Gandalf isn’t dead!”  And just like, the spell is broken.  He pulls back, laughter erupting through his body.  For a moment, I’m still frozen in shock, but then I also collapse into laughter.

“I hate you, ya know.”  I say before I can stop myself.  I really need to break myself of this horrible habit.

“I know.”  He says but when I look up at him, he has that stupid smirk on his face again, and I know that he knows what I really mean.

 

I’m serious, I always cry at that part!  It’s ridiculous, even though I know Gandalf isn’t dead, I still get all choked up.  It really is Frodo’s face, those bright blue eyes and the emotion.  Just thinking about it is making me tear up.

I always cry during movies, I can’t help it.  Another of my favorite movies is ‘Crash.’  Even though I know the outcome of one scene, I still cry every time.  (When the little girl jumps in front of her Dad because he doesn’t have the cloak)  Every time man, every time.  Tears.

While this (the above story, it’s just a story, haha) isn’t a recent tear-jerking experience, it’s something I could see happening in my life.  People have always made fun of me for crying at that part, haha.

Music sometimes has a tendency to make me cry.  Here’s an example:

Sigur Ros – Untitled 3.  Give it a listen, I think you’ll understand.

Moved to Tears – Daily Prompt

Do movies, songs, or other forms of artistic expression easily make you cry? Tell us about a recent tear-jerking experience!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/moved-to-tears-2/

One thought on “Fly, You Fools | Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

