I am not dumping a bucket of ice water on my head

This is my opinion, and if you don’t want to hear it, I suggest you move on.

I’ve kept pretty quiet on this topic since the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge started, but after a discussion, I wanted to put in my two cents.

I think that when it started, this was a great and interesting way to raise awareness and money for the cause.

Now?  I think it’s gotten entirely out of hand.

People are doing it for the likes/views and getting away from its original purpose.  You can see compilations of ‘fails’ on YouTube.  Every once in a while I’ll see a worth-while video, but mostly I’ve stopped watching them.

If you’re planning on challenging me, save your breath/time.  I’m declaring here and now that I won’t be doing it.

And this doesn’t mean that I don’t support ALS research and the organization as a whole.  I admire what they’re doing.  But, as a human being, I have the choice to donate what I want to where I want.  Just because this is the current ‘disease’ in the spot-light doesn’t mean I HAVE to donate to it.  Three months from now I’m sure something else will come out of the woodwork, some new social media fad for a new charity/disease.  It’s all the same thing, just change the organization name.

Do we really even know where all of the money is going?  Is it all being used for the proper purpose, or is only a portion of the funding going to find a cure/ways to help with the disease.  It’s sad that we now live in a world where I would even think to question this.

When I was growing up, we would often donate to the Lions Club when they stood in the middle of the road, asking for donations.  Now, especially where I lived in Michigan, anyone can stand on the corners and solicit money.  How do we know that they’re a true organization asking for funding to help with their cause?  More often than not it was young kids… Maybe they were using the money to have a party.  You actually don’t know.  And talking about this today made me think of the Ice Bucket Challenge.

So, if you want to dump a bucket of ice water on your head, be my guest.  But please don’t force me to do it.  I have the right to choose what I do and what I donate to.  Too many people are starting the ‘You didn’t do it, you’re a terrible person’ idea on the internet.  It’s called free will.  I can do as I see fit and if you don’t like it, I can show you the door.

Leave a Reply

