Another month gone

Sometimes it’s hard to believe that I’ve been here for 9 months… It’ll be 10 in four days.  Sometimes I have nightmares that I’m back in America, back at my old, terrible job, trying to suffer through life.

Making the decision to come here certainly wasn’t easy, but it is by far the best thing that has ever happened to me.  There are still some stressful days, and there are days when I wish for some of the comforts I had in America (everyone speaking English is by far the biggest one) but I love the challenge.  I’m loving this challenge.  Every day my listening skills with Japanese improve and I’m working on my speaking.  I’m trying to carve a life for myself here.  I have an insanely good support system, and I’ve met really amazing people.  So if I had to go back in time, I would still make this decision.

Being here has also given me the chance to open up my more creative side.  I don’t feel quite so ‘blocked’ now, for the last couple of years I’ve been trying to write several things and they never really came out.  The most important piece, and one I’ve been meaning to write, was ‘Spark.’  It was almost like after I let all of that bottled up emotion out that other things finally started to fall into place.  I still have a long way to go to achieve my dreams, but I have so many people supporting me now that I know I can achieve them.  It’s time to do it.

As for my writing goals this month, I did a lot better than I had expected.  I have a chart immediately to my right that asks, ‘Did you write today?’ and I’m still shocked at how many smiley faces I made on it.  It truly is amazing the things we can accomplish when we challenge ourselves.  I hope to have even more in August.  I know some days it just won’t be possible… there are some days I just don’t have anything to say.  But I’m going to push through.

This month I have a lot of good things planned for myself, but I’m not sharing!

And lastly, I finished up my ‘Sentence a Day’ challenge over at Scribblin’ About Life.  Check it out, let me know what you think.  This was an interesting experiment and one I plan to keep on doing.  The person who I wrote this piece about keeps me on my toes, and I usually wrote every day still riding on the emotions I felt from them.  It’s really interesting for me because I can tell which days I was irritated with him and the days I was enamored.  It’ll be fun to look back on this in a couple of months and read into the emotions I was feeling at the time.

http://strokeofthepen.wordpress.com/2014/07/01/july/

Happy August! (=^ェ^=)

Leave a Reply

