Decisions, Decisions | Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt – Fictional Intruder

Go down the rabbit hole with Alice; play quidditch with Harry Potter; float down the river with Huck Finn… If you could choose three fictional events or adventures to experience yourself, what would they be?

102_1200

Today’s DP really caught my attention, mostly because it’s about books.  I haven’t been reading much lately, but I definitely consider myself a bookworm, if not a book-a-holic.

(Random side-note: I broke my backspace key last weekend, and having to backspace now is really frustrating.  The rubber nub is still there, but the key won’t pop back on.)

So anyways, what three fictional events would I choose… Hmmm.

Alright, so first off, I want to take part in the rumble in S.E. Hinton’s – The Outsiders.  I have been obsessed with this book since I was in middle school, and I read it at least once a year.  (If I can find it here, I’ll probably buy it.)  There are plenty of scenes from this book that I would like to experience… The fight between the Curtis brothers (maybe I could talk some sense into them), Pony and Johnny in the church and the eventual fire (maybe I could help Johnny) and even the final shoot-out with Dallas the police.  But, I think I would want to experience the rumble.  It would be interesting to see and feel the social pressure between the Greasers and the Socs.  Honestly, I would like to experience the entire book, but I’ll take what I can get.

Second on my list would be to experience a ball with Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy.  I had a hard time reading Pride and Prejudice when I was younger, it just seemed to daunting (but I loved Shakespeare, something is wrong with me).  It wasn’t until I got to college that I learned to love and appreciate Jane Austen.  And I fell in love with the entire world she created.  I would die to just attend a ball, I wouldn’t even have to interact with Elizabeth and Darcy.  I just want to be there, enjoy the food and dance.  I think it would be a great experience and one I could treasure for the rest of my life.  Witnessing an interaction between Elizabeth and Darcy would just be icing on the cake.  (The picture above is from my freshman year of college when I had to read it again.  This was when I fell in love.)

And lastly, since I am a Harry Potter child, I would have to experience a scene from HP.  I’ve been thinking for a while on what I would want to experience if I had to pick just one scene from the book.  I like the idea of quidditch, but I don’t know if I’d want to experience it and get knocked off my broom.  I’m not so sure I’d like to attend one of the classes, it could be fun but also I’d have to actually study, so no thanks.  I think, if I had to pick something to do in the Harry Potter world, it would be to attend a Hogsmeade trip with the trio.  We could go for a butterbeer at the Three Broomsticks, go shopping at Zonko’s and just waste all of our money.  I think it would be a lot of fun to just see them interact, to see the characters before my eyes… This would probably make me the happiest out of the three scenes…

If only this could actually  happen.  I would spend the rest of my days fictional world hopping, going from one book to the next.  Life would never be boring again!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/fictional-intruder/

5 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions | Daily Prompt

  1. Reblogged this on Kat Webber and commented:
    If I could only choose three fictional adventures to experience, I would choose the following:
    Attend a ball with Darcy and Elizabeth
    Experience Daimon hunting with Acheron (from the Dark-Hunter series by Sherrilyn Kenyon in case you aren’t familiar)
    Participate in a sword fighting class with Arya Stark and her dance instructor Syrio Forel

  2. Isn’t it difficult when you are a book worm to choose. I found it so, and I really wrote for fun this time, although I had read all the books I mentioned. I could have written so much more, I am with you on Harry Potter, but I not so on Pride and Prejudice. I reread this on the plane to London from Zürich and return (after having it destroyed by school days) and still could not be knee deep in enthusiasm. Perhaps I am just not the regency type.

    • blinksan says:

      I agree! I sat in bed thinking for about an hour before I could finally pick three scenes. And even then I’m still not totally satisfied with my choices. I think maybe seeing the movie helped me to enjoy P&P. It wasn’t until I re-read it and watched the movie that I found my love for it. Sometimes I still find her books challenging to get through. 😦

Leave a Reply

