Feel the Bass | Daily Prompt

Singing the Blues

We all feel down from time to time. How do you combat the blues? What’s one tip you can share with others that always helps to lift your spirits?

Anytime I start to feel really down I always grab my headphones.  There’s nothing that can cheer me up faster than a great song.  Usually the louder, the better.  Like right now, I got some pretty bad student loan news, so I turned on iTunes, switched to a song that I’ve really liked recently, cranked it up and tossed my headphones on.  If I didn’t live in an apartment building I would definitely have my Bose speakers at full blast.

There’s something about music that has always helped to clear my head.  It’s part of the reason that I got the Trapt symbol tattooed on my body; their music helped me through a lot of things when i was younger.  I get this feeling, when the music is the only thing I can hear… Like nothing else matters.  With the bass so loud I can literally feel it resonating throughout my body… It’s like my own personal high.

Sometimes it takes just a couple songs, sometimes I need a couple hours.  It really just depends on my mood and the severity of what upset me in the first place.  I once went a whole day where I laid around and listened to the Lord of the Rings soundtrack (all 3 of them actually) on repeat.

I think everyone should give it a try, at least once.  I’ve always felt a really deep connection to music, so it’s always been my outlet.  A lot of times people don’t quite understand, but it’s the one thing that helps me to feel grounded.  No matter what I’m doing I have to have music playing.  The only time I actually like silence is when I’m reading.  And that’s only when I’m reading a good book… if I was reading a textbook for school I still had to play music.  Having background music actually made it easier for me to focus on the text in front of me.  I got through plenty of English classes because I liked to be up at 2 a.m., headphones on, Trapt cranked, reading my homework assignment at the last minute.

One of my #1 “go-to” songs when I need a pick-me-up is Lucifer – SHINee.  I’m a big K-Pop fan and I love these boys.

I am not ashamed of my love for Korean music.  ^^

And as a bonus: Run & Run – BigStar

Today’s Daily Prompt: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/prompt-singing-the-blues/

12 thoughts on “Feel the Bass | Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

