Staring into the Crowd | Daily Prompt

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

I’ve always been a pretty decent public speaker; I’m naturally loud, so my voice carries.  One of the most common problems with public speaking is not being able to project enough so that if there were no microphones the people in the back could hear you.  I’ve NEVER had this problem, in fact it’s probably the opposite, I need to learn to tone it down a bit.  Haha.

I had to give a 3-5 minute speech in front of my class tonight and it really wasn’t so bad.  I winged it, so I pretty much just said the first thing that came to mind.  This makes me a little more anxious than usual because when I have something planned out it’s easier to stay on course.  But I was speaking about Japan, so I knew everything I wanted to say.

The only real problem I have with public speaking is I often get a really dry mouth.  I need to remember to keep a bottle of water with me at all times (especially when I’m a teacher!) because after about 2 minutes I start tripping over words because my mouth is so dry.

But other than that, public speaking doesn’t really bother me.  I’ve always assumed a leadership role so I’m used to having to speak up and be heard.  I was the president of NHS in high school and had to give speeches in front of a hundred people, which is probably the best scenario.  You’re up on stage, you can’t see the audience and you usually have a your speech laid out in front of you.  All you have to do is make sure that you don’t keep your head down and read the speech word for word.  It’s always been pretty simple for me and I actually got out of taking speech class in high school because I was a seasoned veteran by my junior year (thanks to the magnet school I went to for half the day).

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/18/daily-prompt-public/

4 thoughts on “Staring into the Crowd | Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

