One for the Other | Daily Prompt

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/daily-prompt-sensitive/

If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

I actually had to stop and think about this one for a second.  Sure, enhancing your senses is a wonderful thing to think about; who wouldn’t want x-ray vision, or bionic ears?  My thoughts exactly, but when you have to sacrifice something for it, the whole thing becomes an entirely different question

So I started off by thinking what I couldn’t lose, the senses I couldn’t live without.  First and foremost is my sense of hearing.  I don’t think I could go a day without listening to music, it is honestly what keeps me grounded most of the time.  There is no way I could part with the ability to hear.  Moving on.

My vision is another one.  There are so many beautiful things in this world I have yet to see, I couldn’t give up my sight now.  Nope, not at all.

Touch?  How do you give that up?  That seems too easy.  Nope.

Taste.  Ahhh, good ole taste buds.  Stay where you are, there’s no way I could go through life without being able to pick apart the wonderful flavors of dishes from all over the globe.  i want to travel and I want to see, taste and hear things, so taste buds, feel special, you’re staying.

Which brings me to, if you haven’t guessed what I chose by now, smell.  I love to smell things.  I love the scent of freshly laundered clothing.  The way it smells while it’s raining and right after the drops stop falling.  Pumpkin around the fall holidays, all of it.  I love to smell things.  And I actually have an incredibly good sense of smell.  But if I had to give something up, it would be my sense of smell.  I could live without it.  I’d probably be a little sad, but I could soldier on through life.  The other ones?  Ehhh, not so much.

So, now I get to gain super-sensitivity in another sense.  Immediately hearing is out.  I love music and I love to be able to hear things, but I don’t want super-sensitive hearing.  I don’t want to be able to hear each individual beat of a flies wings or what’s going on in the room next to mine in the middle of the night.  Nuh-uh, no way, no thanks.

Taste?  I’m good with that.  I don’t want to spend the rest of my life being able to tell exactly how many teaspoons of vanilla extract someone used in the cookie dough.  I’ll live with what I was given.

Touch?  Super-touch?  What does that even mean?  I think the sense of ‘touch’ should just be kept out of things like this.  Could I feel each individual particle as my hand moved through the air?  Nooooo thanks.

Well, I guess that leaves super sensitive vision.  I think it would be cool because obviously you could see things that others couldn’t, but would it necessarily mean x-ray vision?  I’m not too sure how I would feel about that.  It would, however, be awesome if with super vision came the ability to see like a mantis shrimp.  They can see invisible light, more shades of light and see properties of light that humans cannot.  This would open up a whole new world of color and vision, one that I would gladly accept and walk in to.

I might even be bothered enough to explain to those who can’t quite see exactly how beautiful it is.

More on Mantis Shrimp Vision: http://science.tumblr.com/post/48036499588/extraordinary-vision-polychromacity-polarization-in

2 thoughts on “One for the Other | Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

