No Excuses

August has been a pretty much fall off the wagon kind of month.  I have a lot of great ideas, but tiredness, mixed with moving/packing/unpacking and overworking, every time I open up WP I end up just closing it right back out.  I have some wonderful ideas floating around up there, but the block is rearing it’s ugly head again.  And I think it’s really stress related this time… I’m super stressed out with everything going on from the move to Japan to planning the party.  I need a day to just sit and get everything done that I’ve been putting off.

Today, I’m forcing myself to write something out, so I visited the Daily Prompt.

Daily Prompt | Blogger with a Cause

If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

As I’ve already discussed twice on my blog:

https://worddisorder.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/illiteracy-pt-2/

https://worddisorder.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/can-you-read-this/

Illiteracy.

It’s an issue that is very close to my heart, and if I had a day solely dedicated to it, I would probably spend my time researching and discussing with educators on how to better combat these issues.  Illiteracy stems right off of the education system in America.  I really touch upon it in my ‘Illiteracy part 2’ post.

It has become one of those issues that people just ignore/gloss over.  But with the staggering statistics, and the growing problem with Illiteracy, it’s coming to the point where it shouldn’t be ignored much longer.  Some young adults are exiting high school without the ability to read properly.  No one should be exiting ELEMENTARY SCHOOL without the ability to read.  This. Is. A. Problem.

And I want to help combat it.  We need better fail safe systems in place to ensure that kids get the proper attention they deserve from educators.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/daily-prompt-help/

2 thoughts on “No Excuses

Leave a Reply

