How soon is too soon? | Daily Prompt

Today’s Daily Prompt is:

Can anything be funny, or are some things off limits?

And the first thing that popped into my mind was when my high school soccer coach had just passed away.  I had posted a couple photos on Facebook, including the blanket that she had my nickname ‘peach’ sewn into.  But she had taken it a step further and had ‘My Peach’ sewn into it.  That gives you an idea how close we were.

Not even a day later, I had to go into work at my second job, with some people I had just met.  As I was walking through the kitchen, a co-worker thought it would be hilarious to call out her nickname for me.

“Hey Peaches,” he said.

And I flipped out.  Somebody had to hold me back, because I swear I was ready to jump on him.  I really had no idea what gave him the right to think he could call me that, when never before had he known that was a nickname of mine.  He had literally seen all of the photos I had posted and thought it would be a good idea to use it.  I… to put it mildly, was in shock.  I was in shock for a couple days after that.  He eventually came up to me and apologized and said he had no idea why he did that, but at the end of the day, I do believe that he knew, and he was trying to make a joke of it.

But it was definitely way too soon for anything like that.  It was a nickname only she used, one that I’ve never told anyone else.

Which brings me around to the DP, there are definitely things that are off limits.  They may not stay off limits forever, but people should have some sort of filter/judgment when interacting with other people.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/daily-prompt-funny-2/

One thought on “How soon is too soon? | Daily Prompt

Leave a Reply

