Daily Prompt: Far From Home

A little earlier in the day than I usually write, but I’ve started following a blog with a Daily Prompt.

Today’s is: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/daily-prompt-distance/

So on those days when I just can’t think of anything to write, I have something to help me along!  And on days when I know what I want to write… well, you’ll get double.  🙂

So anyways, onto the farthest I’ve ever traveled from home… You guessed it, Japan!

I’ve been there twice now, once when I was in college for four months and again in May for a vacation.

The first time I went was really empowering;  at this point, I hadn’t been any farther from home, on my own and without family, than college.  And here I was, packing up my stuff and moving to a foreign country for four months.  Needless to say, I was scared!  I have always battled home-sickness.  When my parents dropped me off for my first year of college, I realized where I was going to be, and instantly demanded to go back home.  I’m glad I didn’t though, hahah.

I got to Japan after a long 18 hour flight and was met by one of my best friends from college and pretty much my mentor.  She had been living over there for about a year, teaching English, and had agreed to meet me when I got to Osaka, which was super nice of her.  She then spent a few days with me, helped me get used to traveling around in Japan and using the language.  And, she helped me overcome my homesickness.  By day 3, I had a total breakdown in the morning because I realized just how far away I was from everyone, and pretty soon she would be leaving me too.  She really helped me to overcome my fears and to enjoy my time there.

And then, the next four months flew by.  And I didn’t want to leave, haha.  Hence the reason I’m finally heading back!

Sunset

Sunset in Okinawa from my first trip to Japan

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Far From Home

Leave a Reply

