Books/Movies and LOTR

So, I’ve been re-reading the Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.  And I must say, I’m ok with some of the stuff they changed, and some if it I was like ‘whaaaa?’

I’ve always been a book ‘elitist.’  I guess you would call it that.  I’m overly critical of movies that are based on books.  You should hear me when I get into Harry Potter discussions.  Don’t even get me started on the toad choir from the third movie.  Anyways, I almost always feel like the book is better than the movie.  The best example I have, ‘Blood and Chocolate.’  That movie was horrible.  It totally changed the ending, wasn’t very well made, and will forever go down in history as the worst book to movie adaptation I’ve ever seen.  Another pretty horrible one was My Sister’s Keeper.  I just don’t understand why they find it necessary to change the ending for the movie.  I honestly felt that the original ending of the book was more powerful than the ending they had in the movie.  It still makes me cry when I think about it.

Back to Lord of the Rings, Meriadoc was always my favorite character from the movies.  I think mostly because I’ve got a huge thing for Dominic Monaghan, haha.

(Whoa, side note, I clicked on the ‘Recommended Links’ down at the bottom and it made links out of all of my linkable words – that doesn’t make much sense, I’m sorry, but so interesting!  I’m still getting used to this whole blogging thing!)

So it comes as quite a decent shock to me when I’m re-reading the books just how different of a character he is.  Pippin is pretty much spot on… he’s whiny and obviously the youngest of the group.  As I’m talking to my roommate about the book and telling her the parts with Pip, I literally describe it as this: ‘They’re walking and then Pippin gets hungry, so they have to stop or listen to his whining.’  Which pretty much sums him up.  He may be a bit more immature in the book than Billy Boyd portrays him in the movie.  In that same aspect, I get a more mature feeling from the Merry in the book than I do from the movie.  Strange…

The best part of the hobbits they cast for the film, Billy Boyd is the oldest actor and plays the youngest hobbit.  And he could almost pass for the youngest too.

That’s my two cents on that, more as I continue reading.  I’m in the 100’s somewhere, hoping to be finished in the next week or so.  Getting through the LOTR series is a little challenging, I know when I was younger I couldn’t finish ‘The Two Towers’ (mostly the Ent Moot) for the life of me.  Put me right to sleep every time.

Until next time! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Books/Movies and LOTR

    • blinksan says:

      You’re my first comment! Thanks a lot! 🙂

      And I totally agree, books will always be better. Some adaptations get closer much closer than others, which is nice, but it’s gotten to the point where I don’t even want to see the movies because it ruins the vision I had in my mind.

Leave a Reply

