Reality TV is getting out of hand

I’m waiting for my laundry to finish, so I turned on the TV at my mom’s house.  After falling asleep with the remote pressed against my face, I woke up to Best Funeral Ever.

Are you serious?  I just saw the guy auditioning mourners for the funeral, and then a woman got mad and stormed off, and he asked her if she was grieving more than the family who lost their loved one? 

Let me say it again:

ARE. YOU. SERIOUS?

Of course, Best Funeral Ever is brought to us by TLC.  The same station that gave us the gems: Jon & Kate Plus 8, 19 Kids & Counting, Here Comes Honey Boo Boo and don’t forget, everyone’s favorite, Toddlers & Tiaras. 

TLC used to stand for the Learning Channel, but I’m not sure how much we’re really learning anymore.  Some of the shows, I’ll admit, I’ve watched.  I’ve seen Cake Boss a million times; I love Buddy and his cakes.  I actually stopped at the bakery when I was in Hoboken last October.  I also watched some of Here Comes Honey Boo Boo to see what all the fuss was about.  Needless to say, I didn’t keep watching it. 

Ok, back to Best Funeral Ever, which is playing right now in the background.  They are taking a man in an urn to a State Fair so he can ride the rides.  While it is a nice gesture (he was never able to ride the rides while he was alive) I just… I’m in shock.  It just seems a little ridiculous.  I can’t help but imagine that the  majority of the show is scripted, because this is just too outrageous.  In this same episode, they had a BBQ funeral (complete with pall bearers singing the Chili’s song) and they’re also doing a Christmas theme, complete with reindeer and snowman costumes. 

Now don’t get me wrong, funeral’s are meant to be a celebration of someone’s life, but not a production.  Not a show.  When I pass away, I don’t want my family to turn my funeral into a bunny farm or a soccer field, I’d rather a nice, simple gathering with family and friends where we reminisce on my life.  Call me old-fashioned I guess, but I just don’t see the draw. 

And apparently, Best Funeral Ever is popular.  So popular, TLC has opted to turn it into a full series. 

Supposedly TLC prides itself on visiting various subcultures in America (think Toddlers and Tiaras and Breaking Amish).  But honestly, with these shows and the way they are portrayed, TLC isn’t trying to show different ‘subcultures’ and educate people on them, but rather is making fun of them.  Really, you think following a bunch of spoiled brats around with a camera is putting pageants in a good light.  Most people think it’s hilarious and trash-talk the people on the show.  I just don’t understand the purpose… Reality TV keeps expanding and the shows keep getting more insane.

How about the show that didn’t quite make it to TV, about the one dad who had 12 kids by 11 different women?  (All My Babies Mamas…) Yeah, what possessed them to think that was a good idea?  I’ll tell you what it was. 

America likes to laugh at everyone else’s misfortune, as long as it isn’t their own.  But when is it going to be too much?  I wouldn’t be surprised if we had a Truman show soon, where we follow some unsuspecting person around from birth, where we could potentially even control the stimuli in their life.

Reality TV has gotten out of hand and I think it’s time we rein it back in. 

 

 

PS – The professional mourner just got praised for her exceptional body movement, while mourning (ACTING) at the funeral.  Wow.

 

A bit about Best Funeral Ever: http://tv.yahoo.com/news/tlc-orders-best-funeral-ever-series-7-more-215534542.html

Leave a Reply

